Australian Construction Achievement Award winner revealed

John Holland, CPB Contractors and Ghella Joint Venture have been announced as the winners of the 2022 Australian Construction Achievement Award (ACAA) at a gala dinner event in Sydney.

Projects nominated for an ACAA are assessed against the “best of the best” constructors from across Australia, determined following a rigorous judging process.

The judging panel, made up of Ken Mathers, Allan Miller, Gretchen Gagel, and Elisha Harris, recognised the achievements of the Sydney Metro City & Southwest Tunnel and Station Excavation (TSE) Works.

The project was delivered in the heart of the busy Sydney CBD and included a 15.5-kilometre twin rail tunnel, dive structures and six complex underground stations between Chatswood and Sydenham, including the first rail tunnels under Sydney Harbour.

It achieved the highest ever ISC Infrastructure Sustainability rating, saw a team of 11,000 people work in challenging geotechnical conditions alongside heritage and live transport infrastructure.

The works were further complicated by the numerous existing infrastructure assets under the Harbour, mining under heritage buildings and the design and construction of massive bespoke formwork for an underground station that won International Awards.

Australian Constructors Association CEO Jon Davies said despite many challenges, the industry continues to rise to the challenge.

“This year’s winner delivered several Australian firsts that would not have been possible without the one team culture established from the outset. All finalists have demonstrated that our industry is at its best when it works together,” Davies said.

Engineers Australia CEO Bronwyn Evans congratulated the winning team for delivering a masterpiece of engineering innovation.

“John Holland, CPB Contractors and Ghella Joint Venture have given a masterclass in using innovative engineering solutions and teamwork to overcome the most complex environmental and logistical challenges imaginable. In doing so, they have delivered an iconic addition to Sydney’s DNA that will provide enormous benefit to everyone in the community,” Evans said.

The ACAA now in its 25th year, is hosted by the Australian Constructors Association and Engineers Australia and is the peak annual award for the major players in Australia’s construction industry. It has again been partnered by some of the nation’s major businesses, including Adbri, Caterpillar, Cbus, InEight and InfraBuild.

Other finalists include:

  • Additional Works Package 1 – Cheltenham and Mentone Level Crossing Removal Project, Victoria by Southern Program Alliance: Acciona, Coleman Rail, WSP, Metro Trains Melbourne (MTM) and the Level Crossing Removal Project (LXRP).
  • Mordialloc Freeway, Victoria by McConnell Dowell, Decmil Group and Major Road Projects Victoria
  • Quay Quarter Tower, Circular Quay, New South Wales by Multiplex Constructions Pty Ltd
  • The Regency Road to Pym Street Project, South Australia by R2P Alliance – Department for Infrastructure and Transport, McConnell Dowell, Arup and Mott MacDonald
  • Woolgoolga to Ballina Pacific Highway Upgrade, New South Wales by Pacific Complete – Laing O’Rourke and WSP.
Leave a comment